loader image

MPPC 2015

MPPC 2015



Held in Sunway University from 28th to 30th August 2015, MPPC 2015 continued to scale greater heights by partnering with PR1MA and the Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government.  A new “crisis” element was introduced in the semi-final. Participants were tested by a change in the current ceteris paribus condition (assuming all being equal), prompting them to think on their feet and to react to the crisis accordingly.

Organising Committee

Project Director: Sherrinder Kaur

Deputy Project Directors: Lo Moong Hua (Hazel), Aaron Low Yu Teng

Contents and External Relations Director: William Chen
Assisted by: Abdul Fattah, Alicia Loh, Ang Kuang You, Chew Siew Jong, Lee Wan Xin, Lua Foong Chia, Muhammad Akhil

Marketing Director: Sara Wong
Assisted by: Benjamin Ng, Chang Nico, Lau Wai Kei, Morgan Nathan, Ng Lih Jiun

Participants’ Welfare Director: Anderson Soo Kuan Lim
Assisted by: Ariel Chen, Nixon Phua

Logistics Director: Sophia Choy
Assisted by: Chen Kian Woon, Lee Gah Man, Lim Jia Hui

Finance Director: Albert Yeoh

Corporate Relations Director: Chia Yee Shin

Partners and Sponsors

ICMS Strategic Partner
The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)

ICMS Talent Development Partner
TalentCorp Malaysia

ICMS Partners
Ernst & Young (EY)
Jeffrey Cheah Foundation
Sunway Group

MPPC Partners
Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government
PR1MA Corporation
National House Buyer Association (HBA)

MPPC Venue Partner
Jeffrey Cheah Foundation

ICMS Platinum Sponsor

ICMS Gold Sponsors

ICMS Bronze Sponsors
PricewaterhouseCooper (PwC)

MPPC Supporting Firms

Judges, Speakers & Mentors


  1. Syafiee Shuid (Assistant Professor, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Kuliyyah of Architecture and Environmental Design, International Islamic University Malaysia)
  2. Bridget Welsh (Senior Research Associate, Centre for East Asia Democratic Studies of National Taiwan University)
  3. Dr. Suraya Ismail (Director of Research Khazanah Research Institute)
  4. See Toh Kin Lam (Strategy Operations Manager, Teach For Malaysia)
  5. Abel Cheah (Manager of Regions, Teach For Malaysia)
  6. Woon King Chai (Consultant, PwC)
  7. Ashvina Kaur Gill (Consultant, Senior Audit Associate, PwC)
  8. Aminah Abdul Rahman (Director, Research and Technical Legislation)
  9. Tan Siaw Woan (Senior Vice President, Khazanah Nasional)
  10. Kim Chia (Practising Lawyer)
  11. Sally Chee (Conveyancing Practice & SRE)


  1. Aswan Baharuddin (Market Leader, EY Malaysia & EY Asia Pacific Advisory Business Development Leader)
  2. Mohd Husin Mohd Nor (Partner, Advisory Practice of EY Malaysia)
  3. Siti Norliza Mohd Sahar (Head of Malaysian Talent Development, Talent Corporation Malaysia Berhad & Chief Operating Officer, GEMS Malaysia Sdn Bhd)
  4. Yap Soo Huey (Member of Penang Legislative Assembly for Pulau Tikus)
  5. YBHG Dato’ Aminuddin Abdul Manaf (Chief Operating Officer, PR1MA)
  6. Nora Abd Manaf (Group Chief Human Capital Officer, Maybank)
  7. Kathleen Wong Mei Yin (Deputy Director, Institute of Strategic Analysis and Policy Research (INSAP))
  8. Syafiee Shuid (Assistant Professor, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Kuliyyah of Architecture and Environmental Design, International Islamic University Malaysia)
  9. Fatimah Abd Wahab (Chief Executive Officer, Property Division, Country Heights Holdings Berhad)
  10. Datuk Lim Si Pin (National Treasurer, Malaysia People’s Movement Party (GERAKAN))
  11. Amin Ahmad (IDEAS (Institute for Democracy and Economic Affairs))
  12. Chong Sau Min (Senior General Manager, Sunway Integrated Properties)


Model Stakeholder Conference

  1. Ng Yeen Seen (Chief Operating Officer, Asian Strategy & Leadership Institute (ASLI) & Senior Director, Centre for Public Policy Studies (CPPS))
  2. Chiang Kim Loong (Honorary Secretary General, National House Buyers Association (HBA))
  3. Elviza Michelle Kamal (Advisor to the Minister)
  4. Fabian Bigar (Associate Director, Performance Management Delivery Unit (PEMANDU))


  1. Dato’ Saifuddin Abdullah (CEO, Global Movement of Moderates (GMM))
  2. Dr Elizabeth Lee (Senior Executive Director, Sunway University & Sunway Education Group)
  3. Ms Loh Wei Yuen (Head of Malaysia, The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales (ICAEW))
  4. Brigadier General Datum Goh Seng Toh (Vice President, National House Buyers Association (HBA))


  1. Dave Ananth (Director, Indirect Tax Practice of EY Malaysia & Head, Technical Unit of the Tax Practice of EY Malaysia)
  2. Dat Dr Goh Ban Lee (Columnist for theSun Newspaper)
  3. Patrick Tay (Columnist for theSun Newspaper)
  4. Omg Siou Woon (Senior Executive Director, Penang Institute)


  1. Jonathan Yong (Runner-up MPPC 2012)
  2. Sharon Ling (Gender Policy and Advocacy Officer, Penang Women’s Development Corporation (PWDC))
  3. Tham Yin Yee (Officer, Education Performance and Delivery Unit (PADU))
  4. Ng Jung Kian (Perdana Fellow to Ministry of Urban Wellbeing, Housing and Local Government (KPKT))
  5. Brendan Yap (Senior Associate, EY Malaysia)
  6. Thinjou Tan Pin (Supervisor, EY Malaysia’s Assurance Practice)

Media Coverage

  1. Report by The Star Metro (25th July 2015)
  2. Report by Sin Chew Daily (29th August 2015)


Residential Challenge

Champions: Team Rockerfellas

  • Lai Wei Xian, The University of Hong Kong
  • Athena Choo Jia Yee, The University of Hong Kong
  • Heng Sue Chin, The University of Hong Kong
  • Tan Gow Woei, Imperial College London

1st Runner Up: Aequitas

  • Jake Lim Chih Wern, Monash University Malaysia
  • Lim Kwan Choong, Monash University Malaysia
  • Ho Wei Duan, University of Leeds
  • Chow Shenn Ni, Taylors’s University Lakeside Campus

2nd Runner Up: Vision Builder

  • Samuel Goh Zheng Fong, University of Cambridge
  • Ronald Phuan, University of Minnesota
  • Eloise Ewe Xiao Yun, University of Malaya
  • Sofea Binti Abdul Ghani, University of Malaya

4th Place: Low Rents of Arabia

  • Muhammad Amier Zaryff Razali, University of Michigan
  • Muhammad Farqani Mohd Noor, University of Michigan
  • Micah See Siou-Yong, University of Manchester
  • Enrico Lowira, Monash University

Model Stakeholders Conference

1st Place: Homies

  • Cheng Su Yi, Taipei Medical University
  • Chan Siew Kuan, The University of Hong Kong
  • Lim Mao Fong, King’s College London
  • Yong Li Yan, Universiti Putra Malaysia

2nd Place: MMU Permata Dunia

  • Pravind Suppiah, Multimedia University
  • Matthew Jerome van Huizen, Multimedia University
  • Caleb Goh Hern-Ee, Multimedia University
  • Edwin Lim Chear Win, Multimedia University

3rd Place: Panna Cottas

  • Arunn a/l Suntharalingam, HELP University
  • Archanaa a/p Suntharalingam, HELP University
  • Anishaa Sundramoorthy, Taylors College
  • Netusha Naidu a/p Raju Naidu, Taylors College Subang Jaya

Best delegate: Lim Mao Fong (Team Homies)