loader image

MPPC 2016

Held in Sunway University again from 19th to 21st August 2016, MPPC 2016 continued to challenge participants to work intellectually and professionally while gaining exposure on public policy making process. Here, MPPC successfully received unwavering support from the high stake entities and organisations from various sectors, media and diverse pool of student participants. The introduction of the Hybrid-MUN model increased competition among the participants by allowing innovation and creativity to flow between different stakeholders. MPPC 2016 also serves to bring in inclusivity through an audience voting system which contributed to the scoring of winners. This democratic form allowed the audience to take on a much more active role in the competition.

Organising Committee

Project Director: Judy Ooi

Deputy Project Directors: Jonathan Dason, Thum Xin Yi

Contents Director: Adam Azraei Nadzri
Assisted by: Shawn Edgar Miranda, Joel Leow Zi-Yi, Lim Yu Xian, Michelle Chin Shu Fern, Muhammad Amier Zaryff Razali, Ong En Du, Shazrul Ariff Suhaimi

Marketing Director: Lai Wern Ern (Grace)
Assisted by: Adrina Abdul Malek, Harri Vishnu Aravinnashan, Loo Wooi Keong, Nur Farella Nazlin, Wong Shi Jinn

Participants’ Welfare Director: Wong Jing Wei
Assisted by: Gan Yu En (Networking Leader), Aizad Arief Ansarullah, Lim Jia Yin, Puteri Afrina Abdullah, Tan Ai Jin, Tan Pei Ru, Tee Rui Jian

Logistics Director: Ann Teo Ee Na
Assisted by: Aimi Suhaili, Cheah Kok Fye, Mira Syahira

Finance Director: Chan Kah Kit, Tan Hui Min

Corporate Relations Director: Lim Jia Ying

Partners and Sponsors

ICMS Strategic Partner
The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)

ICMS Talent Development Partner
TalentCorp Malaysia

ICMS Partners
Ernst & Young (EY)
Jeffrey Cheah Foundation
Sunway Group

MPPC Partners
The Centre for Public Policy Studies (CPPS)

MPPC Venue Partner
Sunway Group & Jeffrey Cheah Foundation

ICMS Platinum Sponsor

ICMS Gold Sponsors

ICMS Bronze Sponsors
PricewaterhouseCooper (PwC)

Judges, Speakers & Mentors

Seminar Speakers:

  1. Low Choy Huat (Partner, Advisory at Ernst & Young Advisory Services Sdn.Bhd)
  2. Ms. Ng Yen Seen (Senior Director, Centre for Public Policy Studies (CPPS))
  3. Datin Sri Badrunnisa Mohd Yasin Khan (Group Chief Talent Officer, Axiata)
  4. Mr. Jan Wong (Founder of OpenMinds)
  5. Kimberly Xavier (Co-Founder of The Steps)
  6. Teoh Wee Kiat (Co-Founder, myBurgerLab)
  7. Audra Pakalnyte (Head of People, K-Fit)

 Judges (Hybrid MUN):

  1. Mr. Jan Wong (Founder of OpenMinds)
  2. Kimberly Xavier (Co-Founder of The Steps)
  3. Dr. Au Wee Chan (Lecturer, Department of Management at Monash University Malaysia)
  4. Puan Melinda Omar (Khazanah Senior Vice President, Strategic Human Capital Management)
  5. Mr. Kevin Ng (UEM Deputy General Manager of Group Human Capital)
  6. Ahmed Faris Amir (CEO of MIDP Group)
  7. Vanessa Liew (Startup Manager at OpenMinds)

 Judges (Presentation):

  1. Ms Loh Wei Yuen (Head of Malaysia, The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales (ICAEW))
  2. Dr. Ong Kian Ming (Member of Parliament, Serdang)
  3. Chen Chow Yeoh (Co-Founder, KFit.com)
  4. Jason Tan Khee Khong (Group COO, MTT Group)
  5. Dr. Waitchalla RRV Suppiah (Undersecretary of the Policy Division, Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development)
  6. Ms. Siti Aishah MD Lassim (Head of Diversity and Capability Initiatives, TalentCorp)
  7. Nora ABD Manaf (Group Chief Human Capital Officer, Maybank)
  8. Associate Professor Dr. Tee Ding Ding (Head, School of Management Asia Pacific University of Technology and Innovation)

Judges (Finals):

  1. Shareen Shariza Dato’ Abdul Ghani (CEO, TalentCorp)
  2. Dr. Elizabeth Lee (Senior Executive Director, Sunway University & Sunway Education Group)
  3. Ms. Ng Yeen Seen (Chief Operating Officer at Asian Strategy & Leadership Institute (ASLI) and Senior Director at Centre for Public Policy Studies (CPPS))
  4. Datin Sri Badrunnisa Mohd Yasin Khan (Group Chief Talent Officer, Axiata)
Media Coverage
  1. Report by The Star Online (2nd October 2016)
  2. Live Radio Coverage on IM4U Radio Station (24th August 2016)

Winning Teams:

Champion – Semangat Boleh
Team Leader: Lui Sing Yi
Members: Carmen Chong Kar Minn, Jonathan Lee Heng Yow, Mak Ming Jie

2nd place – BZB
Team Leader: Lim Jay Yen
Members: Lai Ming Yi, Eer Kai Song, Wei Su Khi

3rd place – The Classy Housewives
Team Leader: Joseph Sim Por Shien
Members: Chan Zi Heng, Tai Kai Xin, Thum Chern Choong

4th place – Havogue
Team Leader: Chow Yuen Leong
Members: Kaartheikgeiyan A/L Kukananthan, Victoria Choi VeiLi, Siti Hajar binti Mohd Azam

5th place – Business As Usual
Team Leader: Grace Seen Li Zhen
Members: Kelviin A/L Manuel Pillay, Muhammed Ebrahim Muhammed, Sharifah Hani Yasmin binti Syed Abdullah