loader image

MPPC 2017

MPPC 2017

Held at the Sunway University, on the 19th and 20th of August 2017, the seventh edition of MPPC centred around the theme of “Sustainable Development – Economic Inequality”. MPPC is honoured and proud to be collaborating with prestigious organizations such as the World Bank Group, Perdana Fellows Alumni Association and CREATE, and also having high-profile judges and speakers to grace our event.

Organising Committee

Content Department

Logistics Department

Marketing and Publicity Department

Participants’ Welfare Department

Partners and Sponsors

ICMS Strategic Partner
The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)

ICMS Partners
Ernst & Young (EY)
Maybank Group
Sunway Group
Jeffrey Cheah Foundation

ICMS Platinium Sponsors

ICMS Bronze Sponsor
PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC)

MPPC Knowledge Partner

MPPC Event Partners

Judges and Speakers


  1. Loh Wei Yuen (Head of Malaysia, The Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales)
  2. Teh Ee Laine (Assistant General Manager, Sunway Group)
  3. Irene Sin (Sunway Group)
  4. Arina Kok (Senior Manager, Climate Change and Sustainability Services (CCaSs), Ernst & Young)
  5. Adeline Anthony Sinniah (Senior Manager, Advisory Services, Ernst & Young)
  6. Fabian Mendez-Ramos (Economist, World Bank Group)
  7. Joshua Foong (Communications Associate, World Bank Group)
  8. Loh Wei San (Research Analyst, World Bank Group)
  9. Dr Chandra Muzaffar (President, International Movement for a Just World)
  10. Voon Zhen Yi (Master of Programme and Research at ASLI’s Centre of Public Policy Studies)
  11. Young Eun Kim (Economist, World Bank Group)
  12. Prof. Mahendhiran Sanggaran Nair (Chief Executive Officer, Monash Malaysia R&D Sdn Bhd)
  13. Chen Chow Yeow (Co-Founder, Fave)
  14. Dr Mohan V Avvari (Acting Dean and Associate Professor of Strategic Management, University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus)
  15. Marina Mokhtar (Executive Director, PwC)
  16. Negin Vaghefi (Senior Analyst in Economic Studies, Penang Institute)
  17. Ali Salman (Director Research, Institute for Democracy and Economic Affairs (IDEAS))
  18. Bill Garthwaite (Analyst, World Bank Group)
  19. Ahmad Faezal Mohamed (Vice President of Maybank Foundation)
  20. Ahmed Faris (CEO of Malaysian Institute for Debate and Public Speaking)


  1. Elizabeth Lee Fuh Yen (Senior Executive Director, Sunway University and the Sunway Education Group)
  2. Faris Hadad-Zervos (World Bank Group Representative to Malaysia and Country Manager)
  3. Ng Yeen Seen (Chief Executive Officer, CREATE)
  4. YB Dr Ong Kian Ming (Member of Parliament, Serdang)


  1. Phillip Rao (Partner, Advisory at Ernst & Young Advisory Services Sdn. Bhd)
  2. Kaviyarasu Elangkovan (President, Perdana Fellows Alumni Association)
  3. Prof. Yeah Kim Leng (Vice President, the Malaysian Economic Association)
  4. Jeevakumar Govindasamy (Senior Public Sector Specialist, World Bank Malaysia)
  5. Dr Amjad Rabi (Deputy Representative and Senior Social Policy Specialist, United Nations Children’s Fund)
  6. Prof. Santha Vaithilingam (Head of Discipline, Econometrics and Business Statistics, Monash University Malaysia)
  7. Dr Chandra Muzaffar (President, International Movement for a Just World)
  8. Dr Kenneth Simler (Senior Economist in Poverty & Equity Global Practice, The World Bank)
  9. Zaim Mohzani (Co-Founder, Nation Building School)
  10. Ali Salman (Director Research, Institute for Democracy and Economic Affairs (IDEAS))
  11. Dato Seri Ong Ka Chuan (Minister of International Trade and Industry)

Media Coverage




Jean Heng (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor), Jeevan Singh (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor), Nurul Farhana (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor) & Joel Lim (Sunway-TES, Sunway University)



Jason Wee Chong Wai (Princeton University), Aaron Luke (London School of Economics), Shukri Ahmad Shahizam (London School of Economics) & Razzaq Hazrin Fazail (London School of Economics)



Terence Aaron Anak Anthony (Universiti Teknologi MARA), Caitlyn Ong (Swinburne University, Sarawak), Jonathan Dason (Universiti Malaysia Sarawak) & Joel Leow (Universiti Malaysia Sarawak)